Wednesday, 30 April 2008

George McCrae - Rock Your Baby (1974)

Jay Boy - JSL 3
1. Rock Your Baby
2. I Can't Leave You Alone (I Keep Holdin' On)
3. You Got My Heart
4. You Can Have It All
5. Look At You
6. Make It Right
7. I Need Somebody Like You
8. I Get Lifted
9. Rock Your Baby (Reprise)
One-hit wonder George McCrae is probably responsible for one of the earliest entries of Disco in Rock Your Baby; no wonder considering all of the songs were penned by Casey & Finch of KC & The Sunshine Band. It sounds like a demo album, often with guitar and beat box backing tracks, but with strong cuts as the full-length "Rock Your Baby" and "Make It Right" it certainly proves to be an interesting snapshot into the birth of pre-synth Disco.
Source: Vinyl
Format: 256kbps mp3 (Volume increased by +6dB using MP3Gain)
Album Link: Here
password: sunshineband

Tuesday, 29 April 2008

Lou Rawls - When You Hear Lou, You've Heard It All (1977)

PIR - PIR 82402
1. Lady Love
2. I Wish It Were Yesterday
3. One Life to Live
4. Dollar Green
5. Trade Winds
6. There Will Be Love
7. Unforgettable
8. That Would Do It for Me
9. I Coulda', Woulda', Shoulda'
10. Not the Staying Kind
Another sterling Lou Rawls effort, a singer whose best period for me was his Philly Soul phase! Nothing will beat All Things In Time but here's a worthy follow up. For stand-out cuts, check out the first two tracks, but the whole album is gold! Ah Lou, I wish you were still here....
Source: Vinyl
Format: 256kbps mp3 (Volume increased by +6dB using MP3Gain)
Album Link: Here
password: philly

Monday, 28 April 2008

David Gates - First (1973)

EMI - K 42150
1. Sail Around The World
2. Sunday Rider
3. Soap (I Use The)
4. Suite: Clouds, Rain
5. Help Is On The Way
6. Ann
7. Do You Believe He's Comin'
8. Sight And Sound
9. Lorilee
Many write off Bread purely because most of their hits were ballads, but front man David Gates was easily one of the strongest songwriters of the seventies. Here's his debut solo album, entitled First, and it's a good effort, particularly the long "Suite: Clouds, Rain" and the "Ghetto" sounding finale "Lorilee". Clearly, this was an opportunity for Gates to flex his musical muscles and gravitate slightly further from the Bread sound.
Source: Vinyl
Format: 256kbps mp3 (Volume increased by +6dB using MP3Gain)
Album Link: Here
password: bread

Saturday, 26 April 2008

America - America (1971)

Warner - K 46093
1. Riverside
2. Sandman
3. Three Roses
4. Children
5. Here
6. I Need You
7. Rainy Day
8. Never Found The Time
9. Clarice
10. Donkey Jaw
11. Pigeon Song
People often write off America as CSN wannabes, but in my opinion both bands are in a class of their own, and not many albums are better than America's debut self-titled effort. Kick-starting right in with "Riverside", easily the rockiest acoustic number you'll ever find, the quality stays throughout both sides, with classics like "Sandman", "Children" and "Never Found The Time". I saw America in concert last year and they rocked! More albums to come at a later date, but for now, here's the opener!
Source: Vinyl
Format: 256kbps mp3 (Volume increased by +6dB using MP3Gain)
Album Link: Here
password: noname

Tuesday, 15 April 2008

Sorry for the delay....

I ordered a new AT440mla cartridge and it was a bloody pain to install....Think I've cracked it now after severing wires, fudging the install and aligning the cartridge!!! Cannot wait to get back to plain old recording again!! BIG SIGH

Friday, 11 April 2008

My realisation....

Ok, I've loved "ripping" vinyl and sharing it for all fellow muso's. However, it's occurred to me that I've been trying too hard to make my rips sound like CDs, cleaning them up and flattening out the sound, when actually I like the sound of hiss and crackle, and feel that I'm closer to the original time-capsule that is the vinyl record, rather than removing the sound of all of its antique heritage.

So, from now I'll be physically cleaning my records like always, but I won't be adding any plug-in digital effects afterwards, except raising the volume by 6dB. I like the original dynamic range of analogue records, I don't want to try and churn out sub-CD mp3s instead. Sorry if you object to this - I've listened to lots of rips this week without any digital clean-up and most sound better, and lack that Dalek-voice sound that some of my digitally-cleaned vinyl rips sound. I might even go back and re-upload some of my albums.

Thanks for all of your comments - keep 'em coming!!

Anyhoo, normal sharing album service resumes this weekend I promise, and here's a taste of what I'm bringing:

Jackson 5ive - Skywriter
John Williams - E.T. The Extra Terrestrial
Liz Damon - Me Japanese Boy (I Love You)
America - America
Wings - Venus And Mars


PS - Was a big, big fan of Charlton Heston and very sad to see him go. You owe it to yourself to watch these films:

Planet Of The Apes (1968)
The Omega Man (1971)
Soylent Green (1973)
Ben-Hur (1959)
The Ten Commandments (1956)
Touch Of Evil (1958)

Charlton Heston RIP
1924 - 2008

Monday, 7 April 2008

Cher - Half-Breed (1973)

MCA - MCF 2501
01. My Love
02. Two People Clinging To A Thread
03. Half-Breed
04. Greatest Song I Ever Heard
05. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?
06. Carousel Man
07. David's Song
08. Melody
09. The Long and Winding Road
10. This God-Forsaken Day
11. Chastity Sun
Another strong album from Cher in her fantastic early-seventies period. Spawning the US Billboard number one title track and a nice little pair of McCartney numbers; not to mention the brilliant album cover art. This is a real must for fellow genre enthusiasts.
Source: Vinyl (Remastered using Sony Sound Forge and Waves X-Crackle)
Format: 256kbps mp3
Album Link: Here
password: bono

Thursday, 3 April 2008

Lindsey Buckingham - Law And Order (1981)

Mercury - 6302 167
1. Bwana
2. Trouble
3. Mary Lee Jones
4. I'll Tell You Now
5. It Was I
6. September Song
7. Shadow Of The West
8. That's How We Do It In LA
9. Johnny Stew
10. Love From Here Love From There
11. A Satisfied Mind
If Tusk is my favourite album of all time then it is no surprise that I love Lindsey Buckingham too. Aside from the 2007 Under The Skin album, this is Buckingham's best effort - nicely combining the new-wave sensibilities of Talking Heads with Beach Boys harmonies. It's a jaunty little selection of tracks - I love the sped-up "That's How We Do It In LA" and punchy "Mary Lee Jones". Not for everyone, but everything for me at least!
Source: Vinyl (Remastered using Sony Sound Forge and Waves X-Crackle)
Format: 256kbps mp3
Album Link: Here
password: biglove

Carly Simon - Come Upstairs (1980)

Warner - K56828
1. Come Upstairs
2. Stardust
3. Them
4. Jesse
5. James
6. In Pain
7. Three Of Us In The Dark
8. Take Me As I Am (Or Let Me Go)
9. Dessert
I love albums where the original artists dramatically switches style, and here Carly Simon, fresh from singing bond themes and singer-songwriter material trades all of it in for hard-robotic-rock-and-pop! The sound of the tracks don't always work, but "Them" and "Come Upstairs" are strong efforts, and I this is one record whereby the analogue synth effects are helped by not being digital. Check it out!
Source: Vinyl (Remastered using Sony Sound Forge and Waves X-Crackle)
Format: 256kbps mp3
Album Link: Here
password: spywholovedme