Monday, 28 April 2008

David Gates - First (1973)

EMI - K 42150
1. Sail Around The World
2. Sunday Rider
3. Soap (I Use The)
4. Suite: Clouds, Rain
5. Help Is On The Way
6. Ann
7. Do You Believe He's Comin'
8. Sight And Sound
9. Lorilee
Many write off Bread purely because most of their hits were ballads, but front man David Gates was easily one of the strongest songwriters of the seventies. Here's his debut solo album, entitled First, and it's a good effort, particularly the long "Suite: Clouds, Rain" and the "Ghetto" sounding finale "Lorilee". Clearly, this was an opportunity for Gates to flex his musical muscles and gravitate slightly further from the Bread sound.
Source: Vinyl
Format: 256kbps mp3 (Volume increased by +6dB using MP3Gain)
Album Link: Here
password: bread

No comments: